Why You Should Stay Away From Shelfari.


Shelfari is basically a social cataloging website for books. Shelfari users build virtual bookshelves of the titles they own or have read, and can rate, review, tag, and discuss their books. Users can also create groups that other members may join, create discussions, and talk about books, or other topics. Recommendations can be sent to friends on the site for what books to read.”(Wikipedia)

 

I joined Shelfari a few years ago . And trust me its impressive . There is a nice UI and active members etc . Even the shelf look or shelf is pretty cool . But here is the interesting part

You probably won’t need to complete your profile i.e if you are planning on to sticking on to shelfari till you die or end of the world.
I wanted to try out Good Reads and I didn’t want to start searching for every book I read and adding them to my library. So I tried to export my list from Shelfari . Guess what ? You can’t.You can’t export your list of books unless you have completed  80 % of the profile thing . Since I had two other email IDs I thought I will create two amazon accounts and add them to my primary account. That increased my percentage by 2 % . Then you have to edit some book pages. If you are genuinely trying then there is nothing to do as the Summary and Details are near perfect. So I had to search for random names like “Lumero” and edit their description with swear words. So for every category or edit you make you get 1 % up. Yes so I did screw up the description of 8 not at all famous books.
And they deserved it . The game is not over. You are not exporting the list with some excel file or text based or anything .Its some other weirdo one . But Good reads managed to read the data . 🙂

All I am saying you will be locked out if you want to leave Shelfari unless you spend lots.


Leave a Reply

